jonathan stone's blog

. . . posts on faith and life

From the Heartland to Midwestern Livin’

Although I have not visited an amusement park in quite some time I sure do feel a bit like I am on one of their rides! We continue to explore the various cultures of the US as we travel from Tennessee to Indiana to Iowa. We spent a total of nine nights in Indianapolis for the 71st Church of God International General Assembly. We had meetings before and after the actual assembly, which is why we were there for so long. Of course, the evening services were great, but everyone knows (at least the women that I talked with agreed!) that the services are not why you go to the Assembly. You go to see people!!! We had a great time visiting with old and new friends from all over the world. It was a truly blessed experience. However, we were ready to leave. Have you ever stayed that long in one hotel room with a baby and a two year old? If you are not a parent, well, I guess it would be difficult to understand, but you can try! If you are a parent, I will let your imagination fill in on the details.

Now we find ourselves enjoying precious moments with my mother in Waterloo, Iowa. While Jon works from her home Mimi and the girls catch up on visiting. We will be doing lots of fun things including going to the Iowa State fair and seeing James Taylor in concert. My brother will be here for a week with us, which will be a special treat. We also are blessed to be able to visit two churches during our stay in Iowa.

I love my mother! Her house is full of warmth and comfort as well as good food! Only my mother can within minutes share a favorite recipe, show you her latest painting or artistic endeavor, and reveal her most recent chemistry experiment. She is eclectic beauty. I love every moment my girls get to be around her.

More pictures later!

2 comments on “From the Heartland to Midwestern Livin’

  1. The Stones
    August 3, 2006

    Emily, I am so glad you all are having a great time in Iowa. James Taylor?!?! You know I’m his biggest fan…You’ll really enjoy his show! We miss you and can’t wait to welcome you home!

    Hugs & Kisses to the girls,
    Steph

  2. Ann-marie
    August 3, 2006

    So glad to hear you’re safe and sound in Iowa. Say “hello” to the corn for me! Oh how I’d love some fresh corn on the cob! 😉

    We miss you guys every day! Yesterday, Lydia was talking about going to the zoo with Eloise. I told her Eloise was at her grandma’s house, to which Lydia promptly responded “Eloise is in America”. So you can guess how often we talk about you guys!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2006 by in Uncategorized.
