jonathan stone's blog

. . . posts on faith and life

what we must learn from mercury and ants

When I was young I once broke a thermometer and all of the mercury rolled out onto the bed that I was laying on. It scared me for a brief second, but then I was absolutely fascinated to see how the mercury acted–the way that the droplets would roll apart and then come back together and form one super blob. So, this metaphor that I came across several years ago from Spencer Burke on The Ooze site really resonated with me!

He sees the Body of Christ this way: “A lot of people ask me about the name, THEOOZE-what it means and how I chose it. It’s actually a metaphor. The idea is that the various parts of the faith community are like mercury. At times we will roll together, at times we will roll apart. Try to touch the liquid or constrain it, and the substance will resist. Rather than force people to fall into line, an ooze-y community tolerates differences and treats people with opposing views with great dignity.”

I believe that this is the future of organizations. Like mercury and ants. People will pull together and people will pull apart. Sometimes individual behaviors will bewilder, many things will come counter-intuitively, but when the broad patterns are viewed through spiritual eyes we will be able to clearly discern the hand of the Lord.

4 comments on “what we must learn from mercury and ants

  1. Travelin' On
    March 12, 2008

    Very cool Mr. Stone, very cool…. and quite an accurate metaphor, indeed! I have been enjoying each post and resisting commenting every day. 🙂 But I’m keeping up…just so ya know! I’m intrigued to see what’s coming next.
    I have a vivid memory of a similar “thermometer experience” complete with a lesson from my dad on how fascinating mercury was. (he was waaay cool);)

  2. Travelin' On
    March 12, 2008

    Very cool Mr. Stone, very cool…. and quite an accurate metaphor, indeed! I have been enjoying each post and resisting commenting every day. 🙂 But I’m keeping up…just so ya know! I’m intrigued to see what’s coming next.
    I have a vivid memory of a similar “thermometer experience” complete with a lesson from my dad on how fascinating mercury was. (he was waaay cool);)

  3. Jonathan Stone
    March 12, 2008

    Thanks DB! From all that I have heard about your dad I’m not surprised that he would take the time to do that, or that his daughter still talks about how “he was waaay cool”! I’m sure he looks down and says the same thing. Also, at least your experiment was supervised. I had no idea how dangerous heavy metals are. Ha!

  4. corum deo vida
    May 7, 2008

    thanks for this. it means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2008 by in general, sustainability, trends.
