jonathan stone's blog

. . . posts on faith and life

global clock

I found this clock via Floyd McClung Jr.’s webpage. You should really check it out! I took a few minutes to take it all in. Then I clicked on the ‘now’ tab and watched how quickly various things developed. I then checked out the ‘day,’ ‘week,’ and ‘month’ tabs. It was quite interesting, and I experienced a range of thoughts and emotions as I considered what I was watching. If you can, find a few minutes to look at it and really let it settle into your spirit. Then find a couple of more minutes to comment here on the thoughts and feelings that you experienced.

9 comments on “global clock

  1. Tom Rosson
    April 21, 2008

    Jon,

    If you think that is sobering, try this one — http://www.deathclock.com

    Tom

  2. steve wright
    April 22, 2008

    Wow!
    Big J,
    I thought of how God has all these numbers at his finger tips and knows them in advance. He still loves us and still wants to use us to make change happen. Amazing. I was overwhelmed by watching the number of deaths and abortions at the same time. A lot is going on and I can’t even put my mind at rest enough to process all of it. It all makes me want to walk stronger, witness stronger and live my life out loud for Christ everywhere I go. Thanks for the link.

  3. Johnny Taylor
    April 22, 2008

    This is a bit overwhelming, even for a person who likes to see the big picture.

    jet

  4. Jonathan Stone
    April 22, 2008

    Tom:
    That’s a pretty funny one. It was actually enjoyable for me. Somehow I came out living to 96. How they came up with that with my BMI is beyond me.

    Steve:
    I had a similar experience. It’s really beyond being able to wrap your mind around, and quite overwhelming in some aspects as well. Eventually I settled into peace as I wondered how God ‘manages’ the universe. It sparks a lot of questions about providence. And I got sort of happy seeing how births were out pacing deaths (though I know that raises its own global questions).

    Johnny:
    That’s funny. I hadn’t considered whether or not it would appeal to your ‘big picture’ tendencies. Like I said to Steve, it’s overwhelming no matter what your personality. In fact, my first impulse was to quickly click out of it. I didn’t think I would ‘get anything’ from it. But I stuck around for some reason and then was surprised by the range of thoughts and feelings that I experienced.

  5. jason
    April 22, 2008

    Hey Jon,

    I cant understand all of that. I kinda find myself wanting the # of births to slow down and the # of deaths to speed up but I feel bad for typing that. Maybe I am afraid we’re going to run out of room.

  6. Hunter
    April 23, 2008

    a rush of emotion, all a bit overwhelming to think about. Time is of the essence. I wish i was able to take all of it in, in such a way that would not be so overwhelming, so that i could be motivated by it. However, i think it will just take a while to soak in.

  7. Jonathan Stone
    April 23, 2008

    Jason:
    I’ve seen things similar to this before (though none with so many rolling numbers at once). I’ve always brushed by pretty quickly. It just never did anything for me. But for some reason this one grabbed me after a minute or two. I was really surprised by that!

    Hunter:
    Definitely overwhelming, and definitely difficult to feel called to action. In fact, there’s something that’s almost paralyzing about it. It makes me wonder if the point is really a call to action as much as a contemplation on God’s providence in such a rapid world. How does God minister by His Spirit in each of those situations? Mind boggling!

  8. Jon Goats
    April 23, 2008

    That’s crazy!
    It made me realize how big the world is and it put into perspective (even though I can’t fathom it) of what has to be in the heart of God. When it says that “God so loved the world”… my perspective of that statement has been kind of small. This made me contemplate the enormous love he must have and the enormous pain and anger he must feel. The clock put a renewed sense of urgency in me.

  9. Jonathan Stone
    April 23, 2008

    Jon, well said. It puts both the ‘macro’ (the world) and the ‘micro’ (me) into perspective. It makes me want to meditate on some very simple thoughts such as, “Wow, God hears my prayers? Sees my life? Interacts with me?” Pretty awesome!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2008 by in globalization, issues, trends.
