jonathan stone's blog

. . . posts on faith and life

does this tattoo have a future?

A few weeks back we were discussing tattoos over on missionalcog. Steve Wright and Dennis Adams both threatened to post their tats with pride. My therapist was even thinking about posting hers. Since I do not currently own a tattoo I could only threaten to get one, then I’d be able to post mine too. Since no one ever posted them I managed to escape the episode without ink injections. However, today I received an email from Dawn Hendrix, and it looks like she’s gone through the trouble of designing one for me.

It might be hard to get out of it this time. I mean, with such a sweet design already made up for me. I’m currently trying to decide (1) whether or not to add anything to it, and (2) where I would put it on my body. So, I wanted to get some feedback. (And of course any ‘Don’t do it Jon’ comments would be welcomed!) I was considering adding a tag line below it. Right now I’m thinking about this: CoG: That’s how I roll!

What do you guys think?

13 comments on “does this tattoo have a future?

  1. The Boyds
    April 30, 2008

    How about this for the tag line?

    The COG Has No Future

    But JON does!

  2. Dawn
    April 30, 2008

    Jon,
    This is a fantastic idea!
    I can’t wait to read the creative feedback from the guys.
    This could really go somewhere.

  3. dennis j adams
    April 30, 2008

    Well, if I put all mine out there GS what do you think? I am willing to send you some pictures if you really want them. Tattoos have been a “secret” thing for some time now in the church world. I am not ashamed nor embarrassed about them. It is really cool body art and you should put it on your stomach. Mikey just had a great one placed there over in Edinburgh. Oh and don’t let Steve wimp out! When you come out to speak for me we will put a Santa Cruz tat on your back!

    Anyway, it is a cool design and definitely one of a kind. It is you dude! Do you remember at the Camp meeting when you told the pastors that you were going to do a fund raiser for missions by having a Tattoo booth in the foyer? I watched your mom’s face, oops! Was the look there!

    I put a post on my blog about your “death” post. Just some really radical thoughts I added. Remember do not let Steve off the hook.

  4. dennis j adams
    April 30, 2008

    GS4

    Check your email, I put some pics up for you!

    GF

  5. Don
    April 30, 2008

    I can’t say I’m enthusiastic about this one.

    First, if our denomination changes its logo, you’re in trouble.

    Second, logos are always connected to egos, and egos lead to this.

  6. Steve Wright
    April 30, 2008

    Okay Big J,
    I do have many and I will send you a picture of my tribute to San Francisco if you give me the e-mail to send it to. Tell D to send one of his 500 and you can maybe put them in this post. By the way, the tat you are looking to get is way cool brother. Just remember that the tat is all about the story.

  7. travis johnson
    April 30, 2008

    How about: “It’s more than just a cross and cow tail.”?

  8. Jon Goats
    April 30, 2008

    Thanks for designing a tattoo for me!

  9. darrellbjr
    April 30, 2008

    Flame on eh?

    I think you should put it right on the palm of your hand-or on your forehead if you’re a proud American πŸ˜‰

    (I sure do hope someone besides me admits to having seen “Thief in the Night” or else this post is going to sound really wierd.)

  10. Jonathan Stone
    May 1, 2008

    Thanks for all the replies! You guys are funny! And yes Jon, you can use the design too! And yes Darrell, I have seen the ‘Thief in the Night’! Still have nightmares about it!

    Well, I guess Don sort of gave me a way out here, pointing out that the logos don’t last forever, and often don’t even last a lifetime. So, maybe I’ll keep my body inkless just a bit longer! πŸ˜‰

  11. Steve Parrish
    May 6, 2008

    Jon… I’ve got a close friend and member in my church, who lived in CA… you probably know him… he actually got a full COG tatoo when he was younger, the cross and the cow tail! I’m not sure if it was out of loyalty or rebellion… it’s make me smile every time I think about it.

  12. joel w. clackum
    May 11, 2008

    I say…. tattoos are cool.. but you might wanna wait and design one yourself… however,… If you took this tattoo and had someone create a background so that it looked like it was etched into Stone on your forearm… THAT would be something to brag about!

  13. Truth Seeker
    May 12, 2008

    I applaud your decision to remain inkless. Even though tattoos have gone mainstream–even in the Church–I don’t really see how marking up one’s body brings glory to God.

    However, if you someday decide you can no longer resist the temptation, I’d like to suggest something that I don’t think anyone else has yet. You could have a bunch of temporary tattoos made up with your design. Then, whenever you had the urge to impress your friends, demonstrate your coolness, or whatever, you could just slap one of those puppies on.

    What do you think?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2008 by in general.
