jonathan stone's blog

. . . posts on faith and life

“hi, i’m a middle school teacher!”

Well, once I defended my dissertation a few weeks ago I slipped into a much-needed virtual-realm-lethargy! And man did it feel nice! I now have 500+ emails in my inbox, dozens of Facebook wall posts and messages to reply to, a barren Twitter page, and a few silent weeks on the blog. After this vacation I’m now roaring to go!

One of the things that finally re-energized me out of hibernation was the acceptance that I am no longer a “professional minister.” Sure I still hold credentials. And I will always be passionately involved in the work of the Body of Christ. But I do not receive compensation for ministry, which frees me up to focus on ministry that grows out of God-given passions, and not out of a need to justify my paycheck each month. So how do I pay the bills? I’m a middle school teacher. And I’m happy about that!

Along with my vocational acceptance comes a revamping of my blog topics. For the last several months I have written almost exclusively on areas of theology, spirituality, and the church. While I’m sure that I will still write on those things, I think that I need to share my whole life on here. That means venturing into things like sports, politics, or just everyday life stuff. I’m pretty stoked about it. So, let me start by introducing myself, “Hi, I’m Jonathan. I’m a middle school teacher, husband for seven years, father of two girls, with a son on the way.”

9 comments on ““hi, i’m a middle school teacher!”

  1. Emily Stone
    September 30, 2008

    Seven years and I am still madly in love with you! You are a wonderful husband and incredible father…not to mention brilliant!

    I would be worried that I embarrassed you, but I know that you are not easily embarrassed!

  2. Kevin Walker
    September 30, 2008

    Hey there middle school teacher – I’m a high school teacher (that’s how I support my ministry habit, haha), and I’m proud of that too.

    Thanks for taking the time to comment on my facebook note. I really do appreciate the response. =)

  3. Brandon Bowers
    September 30, 2008

    Ah.. Aren’t we bi-vocational, multi-hat wearing folk interesting?

    My hats: Christian, husband, father, Academic Advisor, grad student, minister…..

    And I only get paid to be an Academic Advisor…

  4. mike mcmullin
    September 30, 2008

    welcome back.

    congrats on the doctorate. i’m curious about the program you attended. shoot me an email when you have cleared the previous previously sent 500+ in your inbox.

  5. joel clackum
    October 1, 2008

    Welcome to my world. I too am a middle school teacher… and an ordained minister. Congrats on the defense!

  6. jonathanstone
    October 1, 2008

    Emily:
    You’re still my smoking-hot girlfriend!

    Kevin:
    I like the topic of S.S., can’t wait to see where it goes. What subject do you teach?

    Brandon:
    Ahh yes, the many hats…funny how the most rewarding hats come without financial remuneration!

    Mike:
    I’m about to post about my program. Check it out. Then give me a call if you want to know more!

  7. jonathanstone
    October 1, 2008

    Joel:
    Thanks man. I forgot you were teaching middle school. What grade(s) and subject(s)?

  8. Don Warrington
    October 1, 2008

    Congrats on your doctorate. I learned that from your parents.

    In the past, you were famous because you were their son. Now they will be famous because they are your parents.

  9. jonathanstone
    October 2, 2008

    Thanks Don. It feels great to be done!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 29, 2008 by in general, life, vision and tagged , .
